Buying car insurance from Coverfox is simple.
Upto 75%* discount. Get policy in 5 minutes.

Himachal Pradesh RTO

The Transport Department of Himachal Pradesh functions under the provisions of section 213 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. The Himachal Pradesh’s Transport Department is for enforcement of the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, Himachal Pradesh Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1972 and also to ensure enforcement of all the rules framed there under.

Himachal Pradesh Transport Department offers different services to facilitate the welfare of road transport and safety, such as issuance license, registrations of vehicles, issuance of permits, etc.

Functions of Himachal Pradesh Transport Department

  • License – Issuance of learner license, permanent license, renewal and duplicate license, issuance of conductor license, issuance of international driving license.

  • Registration – Registration of vehicles, issuance of temporary and permanent RC, renewal of RC, duplicate RC, ownership transfer, HP endorsement, HP termination, change of address in RC, No Objection certificate, trade certificate, re-assignment, vehicle categorization, diplomatic vehicles, etc.

  • Permits – Issuance of New, Renewal, and Duplicate Permits, Temporary Permit, Stage Carriage Permit, Goods Carriage Permit and Contract Carriage Permit, Issuance of Private Service Vehicle Permit.

  • Collection of Vehicle Taxes - Collection of taxes of transport vehicles, non-transport taxes, and special road tax, etc.

  • Issuance of Taxi/Maxi Permission

  • Online Token Tax

  • Penalties – Levying Penalty in case of failing to follow the rules and regulations on road.

RTO Codes of Himachal Pradesh

RTO LocationsRTO CodeRTO LocationsRTO CodeRTO LocationsRTO Code
Shimla HP01 Pooh HP27 Baijnath HP53
Shimla HP02 Sarkaghat HP28 Jawali HP54
Shimla HP03 Jogindernagar HP29 Nadaun HP55
Dharamsala HP04 Karsog HP30 Jaisinghpur HP56
Mandi HP05 Sundernagar HP31 Chowari HP57
Rampur HP06 Gohar HP32 Manali HP58
Shimla HP07 Mandi HP33 Solan HP59
Chaupal HP08 Kullu HP34 Hamirpur HP60
Theog HP09 Anni HP35 Kullu HP61
Rohru HP10 Dehra HP36 Shimla HP62
Arki HP11 Palampur HP37 Shimla HP63
Nalagarh HP12 Nurpur HP38 Solan HP64
Kandaghat HP13 Dharamshala HP39 Mandi HP65
Solan HP14 Kangra HP40 Kullu HP66
Parwanoo HP15 Kaza HP41 Hamirpur HP67
Rajgarh HP16 Keylong HP42 Dharamsala HP68
Paonta Sahib HP17 Udaipur HP43 Bilaspur HP69
Nahan HP18 Churah HP44 Nahan HP71
Amb HP19 Pangi HP45 Una HP72
Una HP20 Bharmour HP46 Chamba HP73
Barsar HP21 Dalhousie HP47 Paddhar HP74
Hamirpur HP22 Chamba HP48 Dodra Kawar, Distt. Shimla HP76
Ghumarwin HP23 Banjar HP49 Bangana, Distt. Una HP77
Bilaspur HP24 Shimla HP50 Sangrah, Distt. Sirmaur HP78
Kalpa HP25 Shimla HP51 Haroli, Distt. Una HP79
Nichar HP26 Shimla HP52 Salooni, Distt. Chamba HP80

Contact Details of Himachal Pradesh RTO

Office of Transport Commissioner,

Directorate of Transport,

Parivahan Bhawan,


Phone No - 01772803136 and 0177-2808642

E-mail ID -