Buying car insurance from Coverfox is simple.
Upto 75%* discount. Get policy in 5 minutes.

Jharkhand RTO

The Jharkhand RTO department was founded under section 213 (1) of Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. The Motor Vehicle Act is a central act and is applicable throughout the country.

The main job of the Jharkhand RTO is to execute various laws under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. The Jharkhand RTO has 24 individual District Transport Office (DTO) which all are being managed by Transport Department of Jharkhand.

The Transport Commissioner is the head of the Jharkhand RTO office.

Functions and Activities of Jharkhand RTO

  • Issue Learner license
  • Conduct Driving Test
  • Issue New Driving License
  • License renewal
  • Issue Duplicate driving license
  • Temporary registration of vehicle
  • Permanent registration of vehicle
  • Registration certificate renewal
  • Ownership transfer
  • Ownership transfer if finance covered
  • Issue No Objection Certificate
  • Address change On RC
  • Tourist Vehicle Permit
  • National Permit or Tourist Permit Authorisation
  • National Permit Grant
  • All India Tourist Vehicle Permit
  • Permit for Specific Contract Carriage for Regular Use
  • Special Permit Application
  • Permit for Goods Carriage
  • Controlling vehicle pollution
  • Enforcing safety measures

Jharkhand RTO Codes with Office Locations

RTO LocationsRTO CodeRTO LocationsRTO Code
RanchiJH-01Chatra JH-13
Hazaribagh JH-02Garhwa JH-14
Daltonganj JH-03Deoghar JH-15
Dumka JH-04 Pakur JH-16
JamshedpurJH-05Godda JH-17
Chaibasa JH-06 Sahibganj JH-18
Gumla JH-07 Latehar JH-19
Lohardaga JH-08 Simdega JH-20
Bokaro Steel City JH-09 Jamtara JH-21
DhanbadJH-10Saraikela-Kharsawan JH-22
Giridih JH-11 Khunti JH-23
Koderma JH-12 Ramgarh JH-24

Contact details of Jharkhand RTO office and District Office that come under Jharkhand RTO

Name Designation Phone No. Fax No. Email
Shri C.P. Singh Minister
Shri K.K Khandelwal Pr.Secretary 0651-2401706 0651-2401706
Shri K.K Khandelwal Transport Commissioner 0651-2446802 0651-2401709
Shri Jitendra Pd. Singh Presiding Officer 0651-2401869
Shri Murli Manohar Prasad Joint Secretary 0651-2401694
Shri Shekar Jamuar Joint Transport Commissioner 0651-2446678
Shri Rajesh Kumar Patro Joint Transport Commissioner (Road Safety) 0651-2401706
Shri Parvej Ibrahimi Deputy Secretary 0651-2401951
Shri Bhushan Paswan Deputy Secretary
Sri Brajendra Hemrom Deputy
Shri Sanjay kumar sinha Under Secretry
Moiuddin Khan (Incharge) Secretary, Regional Transport Authority, Ranchi 9431165070