Buying Motor insurance is easy on Coverfox
  • Car
  • Bike

Assam RTO

The Transport Department was under the care and control of Home Department, Government of Assam till the end of 1950. Later, in 1951, it was set up as the "Transport Department, Government of Assam"

The Commissioner of Transport is the Head of the Assam Transport Department. The main objective of Assam RTO is the enforcement of Motor Vehicles Act, and to promote road safety, providing relief to the victims of road accidents, and controlling pollution due to the vehicles.

Functions and Activities of Assam RTO

The Commissioner of Transport, Assam is vested with the following functions and activities:

  • Enforcement and implementation of Motor Vehicles Acts: Motor Vehicles Act, 1988; Assam Motor Vehicle Rules, 2003; The Assam Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1936; Assam Motor Vehicle Taxation Rules, 1940; The Assam Passengers and Goods Taxation Act; Bengal Public Demand Recovery Act.

  • Registration: Registration of vehicles.

  • Driving License: Issuance and renewal of driving licence, and issuance and renewal of conductors' licence. Issuance of International Driving Permit

  • Tax Collection: Assessment and collection of Motor Vehicles Tax and Fees etc.

  • Fitness and NOC: Issuance of Fitness Certificate to the Transport Vehicles.

  • Permits: Issue Road Permits to Stage Carriage, Contract Carriage, Goods Vehicles and countersign the same, authorisation and issuance of permit for National and All India vehicles.

  • Rules & Regulations: Detection of offender vehicles violating the relevant Rules & Regulations and take action against them through the Enforcement Wing of Transport Department.

  • Road Safety: Observance of programmes/workshop/seminar on Road safety at regular intervals.

  • Training Institutes: Running of Driver and Conductor's Training Institutes.

  • Pollution Control: Taking action to minimize the vehicular air pollution.

Assam RTO Codes

RTO LocationsRTO CodeRTO LocationsRTO Code
Guwahati, KamrupAS01 Dhubri AS17
Nagaon AS02 Goalpara AS18
Jorhat AS03 Bongaigaon AS19
Sibsagar AS04 Assam AS20
Golaghat AS05 Marigaon AS21
Dibrugarh AS06 Dhemaji AS22
Lakhimpur district AS07 Tinsukia AS23
Dima Hasao AS08 Hailakandi AS24
Karbi Anglong AS09 Kamrup Rural AS25
Karimganj AS10 Chirang AS26
Cachar AS11 Udalguri AS27
Sonitpur AS12Baksa AS28
Darrang AS13Assam new series AS29
Nalbari AS14Assam AS30
Barpeta AS15Assam AS31
Kokrajhar AS16

Contact Details of Assam RTO

Address: Office of the Commissioner of Transport Assam

Paribahan Bhawan,

Jawahar Nagar,

Khanapara, Guwahati-22

Phone: 0361-2304110, 2308525


Leave a rating!
4.0 (1 votes)